Dateline: March 29, 2019

The Athens State University Foundation, in conjunction with the University Alumni Association, will host a scholarship reception and alumni awards ceremony on April 6, 2019, in Carter Gymnasium. Hors d’oeuvres will be served at 5:30 PM, and the ceremony will begin at 6:00 PM.

The following alumni will be honored during the program:

  • Charlie Donald – Distinguished Alumnus Award
  • Heather Mueller – Distinguished Alumna Award
  • Laura Poe – Outstanding Alumna in Arts & Sciences
  • Deborah Ward – Outstanding Alumna in Business
  • Melanie Barkley – Outstanding Alumna in Education
  • Joan Prassas – Outstanding Alumna in Education
  • Mark Eady – Outstanding Recent Graduate
  • Melinda Simpkins – Outstanding Recent Graduate
  • Betty Marks – Alumna Loyalty Award
  • Henri Helstowski – Alumna Loyalty Award

All are cordially invited to attend as the past, present, and future students of Athens State University are honored. Admission to the event is complimentary; however, RSVPs are required. For more information or to make your reservation, please visit, email, or call (256) 233-8185.